Camels and Bedouins…The GOOD life!

ASSALAM ALAIKUM!!

I have not made a post in quite some time. Inshallah (If God wills it), I will post more, this year. I definitely want to chronicle my experiences while on this journey. So…I am back in the UAE! Many people were surprised that I decided to come back, given the  daunting and horrific experiences I endured, last year. Nonetheless, I’m back. One of the many reason why I came to Abu Dhabi is to find happiness. I am going to stay on this journey until I find what I’m searching for and experience the things that I would not be able to, had I not left the states.

Since being back in Abu Dhabi, I am starting to enjoy life again. I am at a new school that is all the way out in the desert…Yes, I know that geographically, Abu Dhabi is a desert, but you don’t understand. I am out in the desert DESERT, where I’m homies with bedouins and camels. :). This area is called Madinat Zayed, Western Region. I like it though! It is 2 hours from Abu Dhabi City and 3-4 hours from Dubai. I go to Abu Dhabi city as much as I can. This may not be the best idea because I need to save my little dirhams (UAE currency). Below is a picture of my Bedouin and camel homies crossing the road as we, teachers, wait patiently. 🙂 This is my first week in the Western region and I was amazed. 🙂

Image

This past week (October 13-19), all schools and government offices were closed due to the holiday. The holiday is called EID Al Adha. It is a sacred holiday for Muslims. The holiday refers to the sacrifice Abraham was willing to make of his son, which showed his dedication to Allah. This story is in Christian text as well. For the holiday, many expats traveled to different parts of the world such at Sri Lanka, Ethiopia, India, Jordan, etc. I, however, was not able to travel because I did not get my passport back from HR. They sent an email on Thursday, after work, stating that my passport was at the Abu Dhabi campus and they are waiting for a driving to send it to me. Mind you, this is the Thursday when EVERYBODY have already left school. Suffice it to say, I stayed my butt in the UAE. I enjoyed my staycation. 🙂

I GOT HENNAfied!

Image

   I went on a little Yacht cruise of the Dubai Marina.Image

I went to a Club 360 in Dubai. It was outside, super cute, and the crowd and music was great.

Image

AND….I explored a little…

Dubai Creek

Image

Bastakiya Village.

Image

Fahidi Fort/Dubai Museum

Image

Image

Last, but certainly, not least…My boo, best friend, home skillet biscuit, Rihanna, came to perform in Abu Dhabi!! *Screams hysterically* I was so excited that she was coming and I had a blast when she came. She did a great job. She was cognizant of the culture and tried to taylor her lyrics and attire, accordingly. My boo shut it DOWN!!

1383348_929603595404_2086222073_nphoto

There you have it! The beginning of my quest for true happiness.

Masalama everyone! Assalam Alaikum!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. You are living the LIFE out there beautiful! Great to see you your gorgeous sun-kissed skin, your smile and, you loving life outside of NY!

    1. AWWW!!! Shukran habibti! I am trying to enjoy it as much as I can. I hope all is well with you.

Leave a Reply

