Thankful…Al Hamdulilah!

ASSALAM ALAIKUM!!

This is my second year in the UAE and I have to give thanks for that. Many people thought I would return to the states because of what happened to me within the first weeks of arriving here. I must admit that I considered coming home, but a huge part of me knew that I was here for a reason. My full purpose in being here has not become clear, just yet, but I plan on sticking it out until it does. However, I do know that international traveling, living abroad, and learning about the world around me has always appealed to me. Along this journey, I hope and pray to evolve into a better person, learn what makes me happiest and pursue whatever that may be, full force.

Since the topic of this post is what I’m thankful for, I will list a few:

1. I am thankful for God who has helped me through one of the most difficult periods of my life and is continuing to help me maintain my strength and faith.

2. I am thankful for my family who have been there for me in more ways than one. Since moving here, I gained a stronger appreciation for my family. Living abroad is great, but there are drawbacks such as spending holidays without family, missing birthdays, weddings, among other things. This definitely makes me sad at times, but that is life. On a positive note, my niece, Abigail, and my mom will be here in 2 weeks!!!

971594_902178979554_14572020_n

3. I am thankful for my friends. Friends are the closest things to family. My friends are my family. The friends I have made in Abu Dhabi are absolutely amazing. Every person adds something special to my experience and as a result, I am thankful for them.

I cannot believe 2013 is coming to a close. Thank you lord for keeping me strong and faithful in spite of it all…God is sooooo much more than good. Al Hamdulilah!

Leave a Reply

